Letting go and letting God

Had an interesting experience last night.

Asher, our 15 month-old boy, started having croup at about 9.30pm. We rung the doctor but in parallel I just felt really strongly that I needed to pray and not just rely on medicine. I picked him and started praying but really had nothing to say in English so I started praying in tongues.

I just paced up and down the hall and landing in prayer.

While doing so I felt really strongly that I should keep going till the cough went. Slowly his breathing became easier and the cough more intermittent until he was quite peaceful. I then put him down without a complaint and he slept through.

It was a pretty powerful and profound event actually and, I feel something more significant than just God answering a simple prayer for Asher.  I think there was something applicable to the rest of my life.  Given:

  • in Asher’s case there was no way he could intelectualise or theologise faith – he was dependant on me to pray for him.
  • I haven’t got a clue what I actually prayed because it was in tongues so there was nothing in me that was getting in the way or praying the wrong thing
  • The whole experience was just a God thing – based on a non-thought-through instinctual response.

…I think God was saying: “ok son, give up, chill, let me even do the praying for you for a time. All I want you to do is stay obedient and faithful”

…and so that’s what I’m going to do.

About finchleymusic

Businessman, Singer/songwriter, traveller, worship leader & mentor
This entry was posted in Belief, Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Letting go and letting God

  1. John G says:

    Great story / testimony Ian! Just woke up and read it – a really encouraging and exhortative start to the day!
    Nice one.

  2. cheers John. Another topic of conversation today was that the gift of tongues is now underused these days – what do you think?

  3. JohnG says:

    Totally agree! I really like your explanation of your experience – I often have no idea what to pray for people but God knows and so I can speak/sing over them in tongues and trust that He is at work. Paul says ‘I speak in tongues more than all of you’ – is this some kind of arrogance or is he saying if you want what I’ve got – do what I do?

    Recently started singing in tongues when praying for people and then believe God to give me an interpretation – fantastic when it works – still a great investment if I don’t get anything.
    Have a great day!

  4. yeah man, sounds good. Excellent point about Paul too – he was definitely a spiky character and happy to say things to get a reaction but, I agree, I don’t think this as arrogant a statement as it first appears

  5. Jeff Goins says:

    Great story, Ian! Love how you responded in faith.

Leave a Reply

