Quality time

My best friend is also my business partner. We live within a mile of each other and have worked together everyday for almost 10 years. Despite that, I think we both realised a few months back that our lives are very different now and we’re not as close as we once were, or at least in the same way. As a result, we’ve (well, to my shame it’s been mostly on his part) made an effort to actually hang out as mates more as opposed to just be around one another. It’s made a big difference to our friendship – we both went to the Ray Lamontagne gig last night – and both walked feeling like we’d seen something special – the same feeling we had 9 years ago watching Bjork in Manchester – shared experience counts for a lot.

My other best friend is, of course, my wife. The same thing applies – we can share the same bed, eat together, tidy the house, go shopping, watch TV, etc etc but our relationship thrives when we actually actively choose to be together. We went out to dinner this week. We ate the same kind of thing we would have done if we’d stayed in but it was really really special. I love her so much.

..and of course the same thing applies to God. I can have a relationship with him every second of the day if I choose. But I don’t choose most of the time. What a waste. I could hang out with the most spectacular, creative, awe-inspiring being who’s ever been and ever will be forever. but I take him for granted.

So, not for the first time, I pledge that this year will be different – I’m going to make space for quality time for the important people in my life.

About finchleymusic

Businessman, Singer/songwriter, traveller, worship leader & mentor
This entry was posted in Faith, family/relationships, play. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

